Electoral Area Committees Website


Committee Members


Terms of Reference

2009 Boundary Reports

Contact Us






Report and Recommendations of the Committee

The Local Electoral Area Boundary Committee Report was published on 30 May 2013. A copy of the report can be downloaded by clicking here.

A map of Ireland setting out the recommended local electoral areas can be downloaded by clicking here.

A map of the recommended local electoral areas for Dublin City Council can be downloaded by clicking here.

A map of the recommended local electoral areas for Cork County Council can be downloaded by clicking here.

Overview of the Committee

The Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, Mr. Phil Hogan, T.D., has established a committee to review local electoral areas and to report to him not later than 31 May 2013.

The review is being undertaken in prospect of the local elections to be held in 2014, having regard to the results of census 2011 and the Action Programme for Effective Local Government published in October 2012.

The Action Programme provides that:

• there will be a rationalised organisation integrating town and county governance with integrated authorities organised on the basis of municipal districts within counties;
• municipal districts will cover each entire county, drawn as far as possible around existing town authorities and larger non-municipal towns and their hinterlands;
• councillors will be elected simultaneously to both municipal district and county council, with members in common instead of the current separate town and county membership, and;
• in the case of Dublin, the configuration of local electoral areas in Dublin City Council and in the counties of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal and South Dublin will be reviewed separately by the Committee.

The task of the Committee is:

• to review and make recommendations on the division of council areas into local electoral areas, and;
• to make recommendations on the number of members of each council to be assigned to each local electoral area.

The Committee’s report will be considered by the Minister as the basis for the revision of the local electoral areas under his statutory powers.


The Committee invited submissions to inform its work and those received by the deadline date of 25th January 2013 can be viewed on this website.