Electoral Area Committees Website


Committee Members


Terms of Reference

2009 Boundary Reports

Contact Us






Members of the committee

The Local Electoral Area Boundary Committee was appointed by the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government on November 15th 2012.

The Committee will review and make recommendations on local electoral area boundaries. It is required to report to the Minister not later than 31 May 2013 and the report of the Committee will be considered as the basis for a revision of the local electoral areas for use at the local elections to be held in 2014.

The members of the Committee are:

Mr. Gerry Kearney, former Secretary General of the Department of Community, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs, who is the Chairperson;

Mr. Joe Beirne, former Director of Services, Mayo County Council;

Professor Gary Murphy, Head of the School of Law and Government at Dublin City University;

Mr. Peter McCann, former Principal Officer in the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government;

Ms. Marian Vickers, Chief Executive, Northside Partnership, Dublin.

You may download or view the Press Release announcing the appointment of the Committee by clicking on the link below: